American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery

American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery Announces Its 2022-2023 Board of Directors

Posted On: October 4, 2022

Chapel Hill, NC—The Board of Directors of the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery (ABOS) recently selected its 2022-2023 Officers and elected two new Directors-Elect.

April D. Armstrong, MD, C. McCollister Evarts Professor and Chair of the Department of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation at Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center, will serve as ABOS President. She is the second woman to be President of the ABOS. Dr. Armstrong, along with the President-Elect, Vice President, and Secretary, hold their offices for a one-year term.

Frederick M. Azar, MD, Chief of Staff of Campbell Clinic Orthopaedics and Professor at the University of Tennessee-Campbell Clinic Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Biomedical Engineering, will serve as ABOS Vice President.

James D. Kang, MD, Thomas S. Thornhill, MD, and Karen N. Thornhill Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery at Harvard Medical School, and Chair of Orthopaedic Surgery at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, will serve as ABOS President-Elect.

Scott E. Porter, MD, MBA, Vice Chair of Operations in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at Prisma Health-Upstate, will serve as ABOS Secretary.

Kyle J. Jeray, MD, Chair of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at Prisma Health-Upstate, has been elected as ABOS Treasurer for a one-year term.

“This is an outstanding group of Officers,” said David F. Martin, MD, ABOS Executive Director. “Each of them has made contributions to the Board and will continue to help the Board’s mission of protecting the public.”

The Board elected Matthew R. DiCaprio, MD, Professor of Surgery and Director of Orthopaedic Oncology at Albany Medical Center and Steven L. Frick, MD, Professor and Vice Chairman of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at Stanford University School of Medicine and Chief of Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgery at Stanford Medicine Children’s Health / Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital Stanford, as Directors-Elect.

“The Board has chosen two orthopaedic surgery leaders to be part of the Board for the next 10 years,” said Martin. “Each brings a wealth of experience, serving on other Boards and being actively involved in the profession.”

The ABOS Board of Directors consists of 21 members, which includes 12 Active Directors, six Senior Directors, two Directors-Elect, and one Public Member Director. ABOS Board Members serve one 10-year term while the Public Member Director serves a three-year renewable term. Nominations to the ABOS Board of Directors come from the American Orthopaedic Association, the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, and the American Medical Association. Officers are current Board members elected by other Board members. For a full list of ABOS Board Members, go to

The American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery, Inc. was founded in 1934 as a private, voluntary, nonprofit, independent organization to serve the best interests of the public and the medical profession. These interests are achieved through the ABOS by establishing standards for the education of orthopaedic surgeons. These standards are evaluated by the ABOS through examinations and practice evaluations. More information can be found at


Find what you need