American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery

American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery Announces Its 2023-2024 Board of Directors

Posted On: October 11, 2023

Chapel Hill, NC—The Board of Directors of the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery (ABOS) recently selected its 2023-2024 Officers and elected three new Directors.

James D. Kang, MD, Thomas S. Thornhill, MD, and Karen N. Thornhill Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery at Harvard Medical School, and Chair of Orthopaedic Surgery at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, will serve as ABOS President. He is the first Asian-American to be elected as President of the ABOS. Dr. Kang, along with the President-Elect, Vice President, and Secretary, hold their offices for a one-year term.

Scott E. Porter, MD, MBA, Vice Chair of Operations in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at Prisma Health-Upstate, will serve as ABOS Vice President.

Kevin L. Garvin, MD, the L. Thomas Hood, MD Professor and Chair, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Rehabilitation, University of Nebraska will serve as ABOS President-Elect.

Wayne J. Sebastianelli, MD, the Kalenak Professor in Orthopaedics at Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center and Medical Director, Penn State Sports Medicine, will serve as ABOS Secretary.

Kyle J. Jeray, MD, Chair of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at Prisma Health-Update, has been re-elected as ABOS Treasurer for a one-year term.

“This Board has elected an outstanding group of Officers,” said David F. Martin, MD, ABOS Executive Director. “While they are all busy orthopaedic surgeons, they are all leaders in our field, serving on the boards of many organizations.”

The Board elected James R. Ficke, MD, Robert A. Robinson Professor and Chair of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at Johns Hopkins Hospital and School of Medicine; Gregory P. McComis, MD, President and Orthopaedic Surgeon at North Point Orthopaedics; and Brian R. Wolf, MD, MS, the Kim and John Callaghan Endowed Chair in Sports Medicine at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics as new Directors of the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery.

“These three orthopaedic surgeons are excellent choices to join the Board,” said Martin. “Their diverse knowledge base and skill set will benefit the public, the ABOS and the profession of orthopaedic surgery for many years.”

The ABOS Board of Directors consists of 21 members, which includes 12 Active Directors, six Senior Directors, two Directors-Elect, and one Public Member Director. ABOS Board Members serve one 10-year term while the Public Member Director serves a three-year renewable term. Nominations to the ABOS Board of Directors come from the American Orthopaedic Association, the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, and the American Medical Association. Officers are current Board members elected by other Board members. For a full list of ABOS Board Members, go to

The American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery, Inc. was founded in 1934 as a private, voluntary, nonprofit, independent organization to serve the best interests of the public and the medical profession. These interests are achieved through the ABOS by establishing standards for the education of orthopaedic surgeons. These standards are evaluated by the ABOS through examinations and practice evaluations. More information can be found at



Find what you need