American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery

2016-2017 Board of Directors

Posted On: October 24, 2016

American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery Announces Its 2016-2017 Board of Directors

Chapel Hill, NC—The Board of Directors of the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery (ABOS) recently selected its 2016-2017 Officers and elected two new Directors-Elect.

James Roberson, MD, Chair and Robert P. Kelly Professor of Orthopaedics at Emory University, will serve as President. He, along with the President-Elect, Vice President, and Secretary, hold their offices for a one-year term.

James Carpenter, MD, Chair and Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery at the University of Michigan Medical School, will serve as Vice President.

Peter Murray, MD, Professor and Chair of Orthopaedic Surgery at the Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Florida will serve as President-Elect.

Terrance Peabody, MD, the Edwin Warner Ryerson Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and Chair of Orthopaedic Surgery at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, will serve as Secretary.

Douglas Lundy, MD, Co-President of Resurgens Orthopaedics in Atlanta, Georgia, has been reelected as Treasurer and will be serving his second one-year term in this position.

“These officers are all well-respected by their peers and are leaders in orthopaedic surgery who will do an outstanding job leading the organization,” said David Martin, MD, ABOS Executive Medical Director.

The Board also elected two Directors-Elect: April Armstrong, MD, Professor of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation at Penn State Hershey Bone and Joint Institute, and Frederick Azar, MD, Chief of Staff of Campbell Clinic Orthopaedics and Professor at the University of Tennessee-Campbell Clinic Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Biomedical Engineering.

“Dr. Armstrong and Dr. Azar are two highly successful orthopaedic surgeons who will be an immediate asset to the Board,” said Martin.

The Board consists of 21 members, which includes 12 Active Directors, six Senior Directors, two Directors-Elect, and one Public Member Director. All members serve one 10-year term while the Public Member Director serves a three-year term. Nominations come from the American Orthopaedic Association, the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, and the American Medical Association. Each organization nominates four physicians two out of every three years and the Board votes for one candidate from each slate. Officers are current Board members elected by other Board members. For a full list of members, go to BOARD OF DIRECTORS.

The American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery, Inc. was founded in 1934 as a private, voluntary, nonprofit, independent organization to serve the best interests of the public and the medical profession. These interests are achieved through the ABOS by establishing standards for the education of orthopaedic surgeons. These standards are evaluated by the ABOS through examinations and practice evaluations. More information can be found at


Find what you need