American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery

2017-2018 Board of Directors

Posted On: October 24, 2017

American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery Announces Its 2017-2018 Board of Directors

Chapel Hill, NC—The Board of Directors of the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery (ABOS) recently selected its 2017-2018 Officers and elected two new Directors-Elect.

Peter M. Murray, MD, Professor and Chair of Orthopaedic Surgery, Consultant in Orthopaedic Surgery and Neurosurgery at Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville, Florida, will serve as ABOS President. He, along with the President-Elect, Vice President, and Secretary, hold their offices for one one-year term.

Terrance D. Peabody, MD, Chair of Orthopaedic Surgery and the Edwin Warner Ryerson Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, will serve as ABOS Vice President.

Douglas W. Lundy, MD, MBA, Co-President of Resurgens Orthopaedics in Atlanta, Georgia, will serve as ABOS President-Elect.

Charles L. Saltzman, MD, Chair of Orthopaedics and the LS Peery Presidential Endowed Professor at the University of Utah, will serve as ABOS Secretary.

Frederick M. Azar, MD, Chief of Staff of Campbell Clinic Orthopaedics and Professor at the University of Tennessee-Campbell Clinic Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Biomedical Engineering, has been elected as ABOS Treasurer for a one-year term.

“These officers are all highly successful orthopaedic surgeons and are leaders in our field,” said David F. Martin, MD, ABOS Executive Medical Director. “They are uniquely positioned to lead our Board of Directors.”

The Board also elected two Directors-Elect: James D. Kang, MD, Thornhill Family Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, and Chair of Orthopaedic Surgery at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, and Scott E. Porter, MD, MBA, Vice President of Equity and Inclusion, Greenville Health System, Greenville, South Carolina.

“Dr. Kang and Dr. Porter are orthopaedic surgeons who are well-respected by their peers and we are excited that they will be joining us,” said Martin. “They will make immediate contributions and we look forward to working with them.”

The ABOS Board of Directors consists of 21 members, which includes 12 Active Directors, six Senior Directors, two Directors-Elect, and one Public Member Director. All ABOS Board Members serve one 10-year term while the Public Member Director serves a three-year renewable term. Nominations to the ABOS Board of Directors come from the American Orthopaedic Association, the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, and the American Medical Association. Each organization nominates four physicians two out of every three years and the Board votes for one candidate from each nominee slate. Officers are current Board members elected by other Board members. For a full list of ABOS Board Members, go to BOARD OF DIRECTORS.

The American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery, Inc. was founded in 1934 as a private, voluntary, nonprofit, independent organization to serve the best interests of the public and the medical profession. These interests are achieved through the ABOS by establishing standards for the education of orthopaedic surgeons. These standards are evaluated by the ABOS through examinations and practice evaluations.


Find what you need