American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery

American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery Announces Its 2021-2022 Board of Directors

Posted On: November 22, 2021

Chapel Hill, NC—The Board of Directors of the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery (ABOS) recently selected its 2021-2022 Officers and elected two new Directors-Elects.

Gregory A. Mencio, MD, Neil E. Green Professor of Orthopaedics and Chief of Pediatric Orthopaedics at Vanderbilt University, will serve as ABOS President. He, along with the President-Elect, Vice President, and Secretary, hold their offices for one one-year term.

Ann E. Van Heest, MD, Professor and Vice-Chair of Education, in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at the University of Minnesota Medical School, will serve as ABOS Vice President.

April D. Armstrong, MD, C. McCollister Evarts Professor and Chair of the Department of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation at Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center, will serve as ABOS President-Elect.

Frederick M. Azar, MD, Chief of Staff of Campbell Clinic Orthopaedics and Professor at the University of Tennessee-Campbell Clinic Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Biomedical Engineering, will serve as ABOS Secretary.

James D. Kang, MD, Thornhill Family Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery at Harvard Medical School and Chair of Orthopaedic Surgery at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, has been re-elected as ABOS Treasurer for a one-year term.

“I’ve worked with these orthopaedic leaders for many years and I know they will do a fantastic job,” said David F. Martin, MD, ABOS Executive Medical Director. “While they are all busy, practicing orthopaedic surgeons, they are truly dedicated to doing the right thing and making the ABOS the best organization it can be.”

The Board elected Martin I. Boyer, MD, the Carol B. and Jerome T. Loeb Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery at Washington University Medical School in St. Louis, and Kyle J. Jeray, MD, Chair of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at Prisma Health-Upstate as Directors-Elect.

“Dr. Boyer and Dr. Jeray are great additions to the Board,” said Martin. “Their backgrounds in hand surgery and trauma will greatly benefit our Diplomates. We look forward to their contributions.”

The ABOS Board of Directors consists of 21 members, which includes 12 Active Directors, six Senior Directors, two Directors-Elect, and one Public Member Director. ABOS Board Members serve one 10-year term while the Public Member Director serves a three-year renewable term. Nominations to the ABOS Board of Directors come from the American Orthopaedic Association, the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, and the American Medical Association. Officers are current Board members elected by other Board members. For a full list of ABOS Board Members, go to

The American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery, Inc. was founded in 1934 as a private, voluntary, nonprofit, independent organization to serve the best interests of the public and the medical profession. These interests are achieved through the ABOS by establishing standards for the education of orthopaedic surgeons. These standards are evaluated by the ABOS through examinations and practice evaluations. More information can be found at


Find what you need