American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery

American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery Announces Its 2019-2020 Board of Directors

Posted On: October 21, 2019

Chapel Hill, NC—The Board of Directors of the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery (ABOS) recently selected its 2019-2020 Officers and elected two new Directors-Elect.

Rick W. Wright, MD, Chair, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at Vanderbilt University, will serve as ABOS President. He, along with the President-Elect, Vice President, and Secretary, hold their offices for one one-year term.

Joshua J. Jacobs, MD, William A. Hark, MD and Susanne G. Swift Professor and Chairman, Department of Orthopedic Surgery, Rush University Medical Center, will serve as ABOS Vice President.

Michael S. Bednar, MD, Chief of Hand Surgery and Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and Rehabilitation at the Stritch School of Medicine, Loyola University – Chicago, will serve as ABOS President-Elect.

John Flynn, MD, Richard M. Armstrong Jr. Endowed Chair in Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgery and Chief of Orthopedics at Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, will serve as ABOS Secretary.

Frederick M. Azar, MD, Chief of Staff of Campbell Clinic Orthopaedics and Professor at the University of Tennessee-Campbell Clinic Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Biomedical Engineering, has been re-elected as ABOS Treasurer for a one-year term.

“These orthopaedic leaders—all practicing orthopaedic surgeons—will do a fantastic job leading the ABOS for the next year,” said David F. Martin, MD, ABOS Executive Medical Director. “Like our Diplomates, these Officers represent a wide variety of specialties.”

The Board also elected two Directors-Elect: Charles L. Nelson, MD, Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and Chief of Adult Reconstruction, Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania, and Lisa A. Taitsman, MD, MPH, Professor of Orthopaedics and Sports Medicine, University of Washington School of Medicine.

“Dr. Nelson and Dr. Taitsman are highly regarded surgeons and leaders who we are excited will be part of the ABOS for the next decade,” said Martin. “

The ABOS Board of Directors consists of 21 members, which includes 12 Active Directors, six Senior Directors, two Directors-Elect, and one Public Member Director. ABOS Board Members serve one 10-year term while the Public Member Director serves a three-year renewable term. Nominations to the ABOS Board of Directors come from the American Orthopaedic Association, the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, and the American Medical Association. Officers are current Board members elected by other Board members. For a full list of ABOS Board Members, go to

The American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery, Inc. was founded in 1934 as a private, voluntary, nonprofit, independent organization to serve the best interests of the public and the medical profession. These interests are achieved through the ABOS by establishing standards for the education of orthopaedic surgeons. These standards are evaluated by the ABOS through examinations and practice evaluations. More information can be found at



Find what you need